Satellite
Show on map
  • Black Beans, Rum and Cigars

    March 1, 2020 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 24 °C

    Before travelling to any country for the first time, I like to do a little bit of research - learn a little of the geography, history, culture and cuisine. I also try to learn at least a little of the local language. In this way I feel I am somewhat prepared for what I will encounter when I step out into the streets for the first time. So that's why I tried to learn a little about Cuba.

    The first reference I found was about the Cuban food. It summed it up pretty quickly by describing it as "pretty awful". Whoever wrote the article did their best to tell me that we should be prepared for a non stop diet of cabbage and black beans. If that is true then it is quite likely that I will not be putting on much weight over the next few weeks. While some of my less diplomatic friends might say that it will do me good to subsist on substandard food for a while, if I am going to have to eat copious quantities of beans, it is probably just as well that I have a room to myself.

    I also looked up what types of shopping I might do while in Havana. Apparently the most popular items for tourists to purchase are rum and cigars. In that case I won't have to worry about my luggage being overweight when I leave the country.

    And what about the language ? Although I did have the very best of intentions about refreshing my knowledge of Spanish, I have to admit that I somehow ran out of momentum at about lesson three of Pimsleur's Learn and Speak Spanish. I can confidently say "hello" , "thank you", "Good Morning" and count to ten. Anything else will be an unexpected bonus. So Cuba, here I come !

    Tomorrow morning I will be beginning my journey with a (very) long flight from Melbourne to Vancouver. At the same time a number of our other team members will be flying to Los Angeles, on their way to Mexico. After a very brief stop in Vancouver, I will continue with a (much shorter) flight to Toronto. That's where I will be stopping for a few days before continuing to Havana.

    As part of my research, yesterday I checked the weather in Toronto. It told me that it was - 11 C and snowing. Now that will be quite a shock, especially when compared with the tropical heat that will greet us in Cuba.

    The next footprint will be from Canada. Adios.
    Read more