Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 56

    Not so Sunny Sunday

    April 26, 2020 in Australia ⋅ 🌙 12 °C

    Today could have been Sunday. Or maybe it was Saturday or Tuesday. It's getting harder to tell the difference. The only constants in our lives now seem to be the Wednesday delivery from Woolworths on line and putting the rubbish bins out each Tuesday night. The rest of the wekdays seem to have blurred together. Maybe we should give them new more appropriate names ? Wednesday could become "Whensday", Thursday could be "Blurday" and so on.

    If it was Sunday today, it certainly wasn't a sunny day. To the contrary. The rain started sometime after sunset and then continued for most of the night. It was still raining when we woke up (actually the dog woke us up) at 6.30 am this morning. It was apparent that it would NOT be a painting day.

    But of course there were plenty of other things to do. While Maggie went off to Wonthaggi to look after her sister, I settled down to some reading, writing and, of course, some lock picking. I have to admit that I am starting to get a little bored with my current inventory of three padlocks. I have opened them so many times that I can now do them with my eyes closed. I have even tried opening them with the picks deliberately held upside down, just to see it was possible. It was.

    I am now in search of other padlocks to practise on. I don't care if they have keys or not, just as long as they are not rusted solid. I have searched on gumtree and ebay, but I had no idea that people would expect so much for old locks. I suspect that lock picking has become a popular passtime for bored people in isolation.

    The forecast for the next couple of days is looking more promising so maybe we will be able to get the rest of the outside painting finished early this week.

    After dinner we watched Leggomasters on TV. It is a refreshing change to see prime time TV devoted to ordinary lovable geeks and nerds, rather than to phony MAFS constestants who are only interested in building their Instagram following.

    Perhaps tomorrow will be Monday.....
    Read more