Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    The End of the Loire

    September 19, 2013 in France ⋅ 🌧 17 °C

    We woke this morning to a cloudless blue sky - probably one of the best days we have had since arriving three weeks ago. What a perfect way to finish our ride along the Loire. Some time this afternoon we will reach the estuary of the Loire and the HUGE bridge that connects the north and south banks of the river.
    Tomorrow we will make our way across the bridge and complete our ride to Le Croisic.

    Nantes is quite a modern city with wide bike paths and not very much traffic on the roads. I have been somewhat surprised at the cleanliness of the streets and lack of graffiti as I imagined it would have been much worse. I am now sitting in my tiny hotel room packing the panniers for the day's ride. So far all the bikes have performed well and we have not had a single puncture. Let's hope that will continue until the end.

    For anyone with a love of cycling and travel this has proven to be one of the best ways you could ever spend a couple of weeks. I am already making plans to do this ride again in a couple of year's time but, based on what I learnt this time, I would make a couple of minor modifications to the plans.
    Read more