Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 34

    Meaudre

    October 4, 2013 in France ⋅ ☁️ 11 °C

    In Which the Whole Town Stared in Wonder

    Dressed in his best dark suit and tie, the young man certainly stood out from the crowd. He was also in a wheelchair pushed along by his elderly mother. We had only arrived in the beautiful alpine town of Champagnole only a couple of hours earlier and were looking for somewhere to get some food after a long day's drive.

    As he approached me I could see that his face was flushed with animation. When he saw me he made a line straight for me and started to explain something rapidly in French. At first, I made the completely wrong assumption that he was asking for money and told him that I could not understand what he was saying.

    He then switched into broken English, and I could detect that he was trying to tell me something about the large bell tower at the end of the main street. When I followed his pointing hand, I finally saw the object of his excitement. A large waterbird had perched right on the top of the tower and was preening itself on the highest spot in the town. From the young man's excitement, it was obvious that it was unusual sight to see a waterbird this far from the sea. Once he realised that I could see what he had been telling me about he proceeded to work his way along the street, sharing this information with everyone he met.

    Soon the street was filled with people staring at the steeple, small crowds gathered looking up at the solitary bird, cameras were clicking and smiles were in abundant supply.

    It had been a simple event that had somehow touched the lives of many of the people in the vicinity. In a complex and stressful world, it was so refreshing to realise that not everyone has lost their sense of wonder. I will take that episode in my memory as a highlight of my trip.
    Read more