Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Paris - Day 4

    October 13, 2012 in France ⋅ 🌧 10 °C

    Montmartre (Paris) - Sat 13th Oct.
    This is my second last day in Paris and I have no set plans on what to do. I think I will just head off on foot and see where my feet take me. Since most of Paris (apart from the Butte Montmartre) is very flat, the walking is easy and it is the perfect way to observe Parisians going about their everyday lives. They are an interesting people, full of animation and humour.
    They love to conduct their conversations at the tops of their voices. Some people seem to think that the French can be rude and impatient with visitors.
    This has never been my experience as I have only been shown friendliness and warmth wherever I have gone. The staff at my little 2 star hotel are very helpful and love it when i try to speak French. I think the secret is that you get what you give. If you are open and interested, you will always bring out the best in people. A couple of pics of the grandchildren doesn't hurt either.

    This has been quite a long trip and I am starting to look forward to being back in Melbourne with my family, not looking forward to the long flights home though.
    Read more