Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Eifel Tower & Moulin Rouge

    September 28, 2011 in France ⋅ 🌙 23 °C

    When I booked this trip I also booked a Paris Package. Included in this package was a dinner at the Second Level of the Eifel Tower and an evening show at the famous Moulin Rouge.

    The Moulin Rouge Show did not start until quite late in the evening. Looking around at the hundreds of people all crowded together in the old building, I could not help but think of how bad it would be in the case of a fire.

    I had assumed that I would be transported back to my hotel at the end of the show. This turned out to be a wrong assumption. This is how I found myself wandering the dark streets of Montmartre at about 1 am in the morning. I looked in vain for any sign of something that I could recognise from the daytime and began to fear that I would be spending the night huddling in an alleyway.

    To my great relief I finally found a familiar Metro station. I had got off the train at that station earlier in the day, and cautiously retraced my steps to the hotel, When I saw the familiar awning outside the hotel door, I was almost ecstatic. It had been an interesting experience, but I vowed that in future I would always bring a GPS with me.
    Read more