Satellite
Show on map
  • Bridge of Orchy to Kingshouse

    July 2, 2019 in Scotland ⋅ ⛅ 11 °C

    Today was a hike through the Highlands away from the major roads. It was again spectacularly beautiful. It was on an old military road laid with stone which I found a bit uncomfortable to walk on. My hiking boots are not the heaviest. The hike from Bridge of Orchy to Inveron commanded a beautiful view of a loch on which there was a huge house. I waited at the top of this hike as someone walked up from the direction of Inveron so she could take my photo. I followed a hiker who was carrying a Tesco plastic bag rather then a backpack which seemed a little odd. He disappeared around Inveron. Maybe he was a local just off to work. Just after Inveron I met a fellow walking in his flip flops carrying his boots. He was from Edinburgh and was walking the way in 5 days which meant about 20 miles per day. His feet had become so sore and swollen because of his new boots that couldn't get his boots on so he was trying to do it in flip flops. His goal was to make it to Kinlochleven which was the stage I will do tomorrow. He was making good time but when he stopped for a break I left him. I briefly talked with some Israelites and some Dutch people. It is now day 6 so everyone is getting a little tired and less chatty including myself. The midges were also getting worse which prevented me from taking any long breaks. Coming into Kinghouse there was a sign advertising a Mountain Cafe at the Glencoe Ski Mountain. It was getting colder and starting to rain so I thought stopping for a cup of tea was in order. It was 200 metres off the trail. I was also curious what a Scottish ski resort looks like. Compared to our Rocky Mountain resorts it was quite small with one chair lift that I could see. I checked on line and they supposedly have 8 lifts and the greatest elevation differential in Scotland at 740 metres. The face beneath the chair lift seemed quite steep. I wonder what the snow is like. After my tea and a little look around I persisted on to the Kinghouse. I was quite surprised as the historic hotel I thought I was staying in was gone and had been replaced with a totally new one. Start time was 8:30 and end time was 1:30. I just chilled out in the lobby as they wouldn't let me into the room until 3. As I went to retrieve my luggage, I met Mr. FlipFlop man sitting on a picnic table outside. He had his socks off and his feet were visibly very swollen. He was chatting with a fellow who was offering to give him a ride but I heard him telling the fellow that he was going to persist. What dedication. I have now completed 72 miles of the hike and have only two days left.Read more