Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Vienna walking tour

    August 21, 2023 in Austria ⋅ ☀️ 35 °C

    Our adventures have been slowed down by the weather. Yesterday hit a high of 34 degrees and today hit a high of 36 degrees. I find that I am good for the morning until noon and then it gets too warm and I hit the heat wall. We retreat to our Air conditioned Air BnB. I have been going in the afternoon to a closer indoor outdoor pool doing a swim and chilling out on the deck of the indoor pool on a chez lounge chair and reading my Kobo reader. It's about a 12 minute walk and I have been taking respite in grocery stores and a post office. By the time I get back I think I am all warmed up again

    Yesterday we got an early start to beat the heat. We were away by 8:15 and we took the number 2 tram downtown to walk around old Vienna. We started at the Opera House and did a complete loop of downtown finishing off at the Hofburg palace. We followed the walking tour recommended by Rick Steves. Some of the highlights included St. Stephan's cathedral, admiring the interposition of the various architectures, looking into the old coffee houses, the plague memorial and Kohlmarkt- Viennas high end shopping district. We even went in a high end Louis Vuitton store which the girls really enjoyed.I think Vienna was heavily bomb in WW2 so there are some very old buildings interspersed with newer buildings. We kept them pretty well occupied until 11 am until they wanted to go off for a coffee by themselves and Cheryl and I headed to Cafe Gerstner for a coffee and to lap up the ambience of an old style Viennese cafe.
    Read more