Satellit
Vis på kort
  • Dag 14

    Brompton on Swale to Ingleby Cross

    15. maj, England ⋅ ☁️ 13 °C

    This is the longest day I have to hike on this trip. I had shortened it by 7 km by walking longer yesterday but it was still a punishing 30 km of walking flat on roads and through some incredibly muddy paths. Very poorly posted. There was no drying room at the Frenchgate hotel and the newspaper didn't cut it to dry out the boots so I ended up hiking in wet boots that got wetter as the day progressed. I developed blisters on the planter aspect of my fourth toes. I will try the trail runners tomorrow. My right trapezius is also bothering me. Despite the long walk today I did enjoy myself. Beautiful churches in Bolton on Swale and Denby Wiske. Some very friendly domestic animals which all seem very intent on smelling me. I finally saw Highland cattle in Northern England of all places. The craziest thing at the end of the day was having to run across a significant two lane highway the size of the QE2. It was the only way across. There was a service station nearby and I asked if there was any safer way and there wasn't. The teller's advice was to wait for a break and run to the median. Madness just madness. Probably the most dangerous part of the whole trip. I am staying at the Blue Bell Inn where I met up with Nick the school teacher that I met on my way to Keld. We had an early dinner and are both turning in for an early night.Læs mere