Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 104

    Great Harbour to Chub Cay

    December 2, 2023 on the Bahamas ⋅ ⛅ 79 °F

    I have no idea how, when I look back at these photos, I am going to tell one beautiful beach from another. They are all so beautiful! But I can't stop taking pictures of them, so I will inundate this site with indistinguishable sunrises, sunsets and pristine beaches.

    Great Harbour was a beautiful little island that was wild and fairly uninhabited. We drove around the island in an hour and tried to get groceries at the smallest little grocery shop. We stopped for lunch and learned an important lesson that had already once been told to us. If you want food at a lot of these restaurants, you need to call ahead and let them know you are coming. The restaurants are usually in someone's house and they are only making what people have pre-ordered. The proprietor made an exception for us on our adventure and we were fed porkchops and pasta salad from the special of the day. Dave also asked for his coleslaw and the woman made it right there for him.

    The marina we stayed at was very rustic but did have 2 wild cats that loved to torment our dogs. There were also manatees that came up and played in the water the attendants would squirt out for them. There were also some fisherman at the end of the dock and we bought some lobster from them for $15 a piece that were HUGE and so tasty on our grill. All in all it was a quaint and peaceful stop.

    Dave and I are still "discussing" what moving the boat looks like between these islands. I really hate the crashing into the surf at high speeds with wind in our face. Dave doesn't mind so much and he wanted to test if we could compromise with a small trip so we moved from Great Harbour to Chub Cay, which was about 3 hours away, in winds that were not at our back. Most of the trip was fine with side winds, but those winds in your face, make me go downstairs and read to try to ignore the crashing feeling. I am praying our days of this type of travel will be mostly behind us from here on out.

    Chub Cay is another resort. Everything is curated and catered and it is not that great for the dogs, but perfect for beach sitting and hanging out in the pool to capture sunsets. With our discussion of wind travel, we may be here for 3 nights. Not so hard on me, but not the perfect place to be stuck.

    What Could Go Right? The weather has been so beautifully temperate. We get a few showers here or there and then a gentle breeze and bright beautiful sun. It has been very nice. Also, IT IS SO QUIET everywhere. We sleep so soundly. It is lovely.

    What Could Go Wrong? Bugs love the humidity and bugs love me. I keep a constant layer of bug repellent on me at all times and I am still getting bit. The good thing is salt water seems to dry up the bites fast. Also, have I mentioned the leaks? Yeah those really are a bummer.
    Read more