Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Flamenco!

    January 16, 2018 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 11 °C

    This was our last day in Sevilla and I had come to love this city. I can see now why it is one of the most popular cities to visit in Spain. It is lively, even in winter, and architecturally there are beautiful sights around every corner.

    Today was laundry day so I took the opportunity to work on our itinerary. Air Portugal cancelled our February flights to the Azores and rescheduled them the following day with a 0645 flight to Lisbon and a 10 hour layover there. Emails weren’t getting answered and phone call attempts were useless because the message was in Portuguese naturally. I finally messaged through Facebook and they were able to give me better flight times but wouldn’t change the date back to my original booking. Our accommodation was reserved based on our flights so it’s been one big headache. I also haven’t planned our March itinerary in Portugal so I did some research on that. Feeling frustrated, I went for one last long walk through the central area. John chose to stay in the apartment to read so I was free to explore at my own pace.

    In the evening we attended a flamenco show at an intimate,100 seat theatre called La Casa de la Memoria, which was recommended by our apartment owner. She described it as real flamenco and not touristy. The one hour show was fantastic. It was very loud, energetic and passionate. There was a singer, flamenco guitarist, and two dancers. Although we couldn’t understand the singing in Spanish, the dancing was theatrical and expressive. The audience would yell out “Ole” to encourage the singer and dancers. No photos were allowed until the end. I don’t know if all flamenco shows are like this but it was riveting!
    Read more