Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    CRUISING THE PACIFIC OCEAN

    January 10, 2019 in Mexico ⋅ 🌧 23 °C

    We’ve been at sea for 2 days travelling south along the coast of Mexico at a speed of 37 km/h. The temperature gradually increased from 15 to 23 degrees in the sunshine. The ocean has been fairly calm. We’ve explored the ship and finally got our bearings. Meals have been good and we are both watching our caloric intake, one with more success than the other. We purchased 5 bottles of wine at Costco in San Diego and were charged $18 corkage fee each for 3 of the bottles as we were allowed 2 free in our stateroom. This seems expensive but one of the bottles that we paid $11 for was on the menu for $46! Each day we’ve been doing 3 laps around the ship equaling one mile plus doing several flights of stairs, not to mention the steps from aft to bow. Four days ago I came down with a cold, which seems to be my travel norm these days sadly. In order to prevent a repeat experience with rib fractures, I’ve been taking ample Robitussin-DM shooters which made my brain foggy. I am on the mend now which pleases me immensely as I was a bit anxious about being out in the middle of the ocean with a respiratory emergency like in Portugal!

    JS is half-way through his 2nd book and I’ve been enjoying the American Test Kitchen presentations. A professional chef from the TV show prepares the meal, shares the recipes, and gives a lot of general cooking tips. Their show is based on the science of cooking. We have been going to most of the evening entertainment shows and saw the movie, “Bohemian Rhapsody”, the story about Freddy Mercury and Queen. Excellent movie that everyone should see.

    Here’s my most exciting experience so far. Yesterday I was given a free bingo card so I went to try my luck. A couple in front of me had to leave early for a massage appointment and handed me their 5 cards on their way out. I yelled after them for their cabin # just in case they won and jotted it down. With a Texan drawl he told me, “You can buy me a drink if you win”. Five minutes later I yelled “BINGO!” on his card and won $150! I left a note on their door, which happened to be 2 doors down from us, telling them to come and collect their winnings. He was shocked, initially thinking it was a joke, and felt that the money was mine to keep because I didn’t even have to tell them that I had won. I felt it was the honest thing to do as he had paid for the bingo card. He gave me $80, which I thanked him for his generosity, and he kept $70 somewhat reluctantly. We were both happy!
    Read more