Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 23

    Final Day at Sea

    January 21, 2019, North Atlantic Ocean ⋅ 🌙 22 °C

    It was a typical, quiet day at sea except the temperature took a drastic drop. After 2 laps I came indoors as it was cool and windy on deck, where people on loungers were nestled under beach towels. It seemed that everyone was winding down and preparing for disembarkation in the morning. After dinner we did see a very funny comedian and an excellent singer from the Netherlands, where she had won their version of American Idol. We used the last of our beverage credits so JS could finally try the Penicillin cocktail he was curious to try, which he didn’t really enjoy after all, judging by the face he made with each sip. My mojito was almost as good as the ones Alyssa makes.

    It’s been an interesting 2 weeks, the longest cruise we have taken and likely the longest we will ever take. Our ship, the Amsterdam, will be departing for a 4 month world cruise after we leave. I believe the fare is around $50,000 for 2 people and there are about 1300 people who have reserved. Even if I could afford it, I couldn’t be on a ship for that length of time. We did meet a lot of interesting people, all of them world travellers with stories to tell. It always surprised me that every single person I spoke to had travelled to far off places, mostly by cruising. I also briefly met Dolly, a 92 year old woman who lives on the ship full time. Another passenger told me Dolly came from Winnipeg but when I asked her this, she said “Winnipeg...never heard of it. I’m from San Diego but this is my home now”. She’s been cruising for years and gets special attention from the officers. It might be a better option than a personal care home if you can afford it!
    Read more