Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Icefields Parkway I

    July 25, 2022 in Canada ⋅ ☁️ 15 °C

    It was time to move on. We stopped at the outskirts of Banff to see the hoodoos and were then on our way to Jasper. As we passed the Moraine Lake turnoff we decided to give it one last try. Again we were told no access but I stopped the car and we pleaded with the traffic attendant. I told him this was our third attempt and because he remembered us from the previous day he allowed us through the traffic barrier. Hurray!! It is still one of my most favourite breathtaking places in the Rockies and is now one of Linda’s favourite memories.

    The drive down the Icefields Parkway was quite amazing too. We stopped at the Columbia Icefields Visitor Centre and had our picnic lunch along the parking lot. The exhibits were all new to us as they were redone 5 years ago. We also made stops at Sunwapta Falls and Athabaska Falls. With all the Spring rains, the falls were powerful.

    One idiot driver decided to pull out and pass a car as I was approaching. I had to pull over onto the paved shoulder in order to avoid a head-on crash! Geez!! We also read today that a kayaker died at Sunwapta Falls on the day that we were there. I am so glad we weren't there to witness it.
    Read more