Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 29

    Diving with Bull Sharks

    January 29 in Mexico ⋅ ☀️ 24 °C

    Some animals have a really bad press and sharks are top of that list. Humans kill 100 million sharks a year (to eat their fins) and they attack about 75 people a year of which 5 (on average) are fatalities.

    Sharks attack people mostly in poor visibility when they confuse us for food, they don’t have hands so they test with their mouths. Unlucky if you are one of the 75 of course. But more people die from falling off a chair or bee stings so we really shouldn’t demonise them. But they do need our respect. Which is why for this dive I chose a 5 star shark aware PADI school.

    Anyway lecture over. I just had the most amazing dive of my life. Just me this time as Helen opted out (see cooking course post). It was an advanced dive (experienced qualified divers only) descending rapidly to 25m (80 feet) and then remaining static on the floor whilst the sharks were fed and swam all around us. The sharks swam around us as we descended but always very peacefully and not aggressive at all. Still seeing the first sight of these 4m top predators was very awesome and humbling. I never felt unsafe through the dive and loved every minute. Twice a shark swam into me by accident which was quite surprising for both of us I think!

    Best dive of my life for sure. Altogether 16 adult bull sharks with us. Will be hard to top this for an amazing wildlife encounter. (I am in some of the pics look for blue watch)
    Read more