Satellite
Show on map
  • The end of a long day

    November 16, 2014 in Argentina ⋅ ☀️ 79 °F

    It seems like days ago since we left Denver. By the time we reached the airport in Buenos Aires, my back was stiff and my ankles could have been mistaken for those of a pregnant elephant. The human body is not meant to sit in a tiny little space for hours on end.

    Although we got in at 9:45p, it took until 11:15 for us to find our ride. Apparently there was a miscommunication, despite his best English and my best Spanish. I was a bit surprised that more people don't speak English, especially in the airport. I don't mind speaking Spanish, but I hate to make people listen to it. I'm a little clunky. The language is also difficult for me to understand here. Kim looks at me, after I get an answer to a question, and I just shrug my shoulders, "I have no idea what he said, but he pointed this way." The dialect is different than what I'm used to in Mexico, not to mention that I just don't speak Spanish too well.

    We'll manage five hours of sleep tonight before returning to the airport for an early flight to Ushuaia. We are very much looking forward to the end of our air travel.
    Read more