Satellite
Show on map
  • Top ten from number seven

    November 30, 2014 in the United States ⋅ ☁️ 25 °F

    I always have mixed feelings about the end of a trip. I'm sad to be leaving but happy to be returning to home, and this trip is no different. Looking back, here are the top ten moments from Antarctica '14:

    10. Voluntarily, and quite exuberantly, jumping into 32 degree water
    9. Experiencing such exhaustion on the last flight home, I cried three times during a Spiderman movie
    8. Not crying when I saw Evita's inauguration dress
    7. Realizing that anyone will help you, if you just look pitiful enough
    6. Learning that Argentine Spanish is not Mexican Spanish; and I can't speak it
    5. Making a snow angel in Antarctica is even more fun than in Colorado
    4. Trying to understand that the potential of dying by boiling lava trumps the winds of an Antarctic hurricane
    3. Feeling amazed that Kim wanted to do the polar plunge...and then she was the first on the ship to take the leap
    2. Sharing Thanksgiving with my family via Skype
    1. Flinging my body down an Antarctic mountain face, as a human luge
    Read more