Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Breathtaking Beauty

    November 1, 2006 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 61 °F

    I got an early start, which is a good thing. I definitely underestimated the time it would take to get to Melbourne via the Great Ocean Road (GOR). It's not so much the distance, as it is the stops one makes along the way. I pulled out of Warrnambool at about 8am and headed east. The drive is uneventful at the beginning. I came to my first car park and turned. Up to this point you could not see the coast from the road, so I was expecting the usual ocean, waves, beach view. As I crested the hill, I was stunned at the beauty of the area. Now I truly understand what "breathtaking" means. It is so incredibly beautiful that it stops you in your tracks. The ocean is colors of turquoise and dark blue, with limestone towers jetting out of the shallows, against a backdrop of clear blue sky. I'd seen pictures of the area, but they do no justice to the true nature. I spent at least 30 minutes, walking, smelling, staring. It is unbelievable. I must have gotten awfully lucky, as it's been a little cloudy since I've been here, and today is absolutely clear.

    I finally tear myself away, knowing this is a minor scenic outlook on the GOR. I can't even imagine how incredible the next 200 km will be. And I'm not disappointed. I spend most of the day with my mouth agape at the scenery. I do a lot of hiking and climbing to get the best photos, knowing that the uniqueness will not be reflected in the pictures. The most popular sight is the 12 Apostles. It is a group of limestone pillars along the coast. As I walk between a couple viewing platforms, something turns my attention to the outcroppings to the left. I look through my binoculars and see five penguins out on the ledge. Now there are a few hundred people around and I'm pretty sure I'm the only one looking at penguins. Finally, I stop a passerby with a really big camera lens and ask how strong the lens is. I point out the area, and sure enough, they really are penguins; and not little fairy penguins. These are full on "March of the Penguins" penguins. I watch them for a while, then it's off to more sightseeing.

    By the end of the GOR, I am really tired and realize that it is still a long way to Melbourne. Because my flight leaves early tomorrow morning, I really need to get there, so I head through the rainforest. I declined to stop at the waterfall stops, given I'm in a little hurry and knowing there will be time for many more of them in the next few weeks.

    I roll into to Melbourne at 7pm and am not camping. I find a hotel, do some laundry, and call it a night. I leave for Tasmania tomorrow morning.
    Read more