Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Through the rain forest

    October 10, 2007 in Tanzania ⋅ ⛅ 72 °F

    Sure enough, before sunrise the tree hyrax started chirping, which sounded more like a bird to me. I think it's a rabbit like thing, but I'm not sure. That was nothing compared to the sound of the columbus monkey. They make a sound like a 1972 Honda 70 cc motorbike trying to start on a cold day. Loudly! They sounded as if they were above our tent. By sunrise they quieted and we got up. The hike through the rainforest stopped, as we came across monkeys in the trees. We watched and tried to take pictures, but they weren't too cooperative. The columbus monkey has a huge furry white tail, and that's about all we saw of them. As we hiked out of the rainforest, we worked our way up to the moorland, gaining altitude at a slow pace. It began to rain and rained the rest of the day. Go figure, dry in the rainforest, and it rains after. The rain was steady and made hiking difficult because of the mud. The mud looked like melted chocolate (dark chocolate) and the Willie Wonka song got stuck in my head. Not pleasant for several hours at a time. I slipped on a rock and ended up caked in mud all along my left side. I walked into Shira camp wet and muddy, it had been about a 7 hour hike today.Read more