Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Home Safely...and Top Ten List

    September 22, 2010 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 57 °F

    I slept in a little, given the long trip ahead. Because it appeared to actually be dry out, Jay suggested we take a walk down to Itaewon, which seemed like a good idea. We walked down the hill and it was evident today was a holiday. It's actually Chusok, the Korean Thanksgiving, when they express their gratitude for full harvests and what not. Almost all the stores were closed, so we took a leisurely stroll around the area. Actually, I got the unofficial tour from the local. First it was a view of the night club area. Jay indicated that the clubs don’t close until 6am, at which time the intersection becomes a madhouse with couples staggering home, taxis jamming the street for fares, and the occasional falling down drunk. At the top of the hill, the area is known as Hooker Hill, but Jay said he didn’t know why. Hmmm. I thought it quite unfortunate for the local Muslims, since the mosque is set up on a higher hill next to this one which overlooks all this activity. It made me wonder what it might be like to be leaving a bar intoxicated at 6am, with the call to prayers echoing from above.

    We walked up a block, crossed the street, and attacked a big set of stairs. At the top there was a large spa/sauna place, which would be terribly convenient to stave off the hangover waiting in the wings for those 6am’ers. We made it around the block and stopped at the Dunkin Donuts for breakfast and coffee. It was about the only thing open that didn’t serve liquor.

    When we returned home, I showered, finished packing, and then Jay and Imy walked me down to the bus stop. We agreed that it was great to see each other and very delightful to meet Imy. They left for the Filipino market, and I only waited about five minutes before the bus arrived. I was the only one on it and most of the other stops were vacant. We drove all around Seoul to pick up passengers, but there were few. I figured we’d get to the airport quickly at this rate. But not. As soon as we got on the highway, the traffic was reduced to a crawl. I don’t know where that road goes, but a large portion of Korea’s residents were driving on it. At one point I looked up and was alarmed to see a sign announcing that Incheon Airport was 48 km away. I’m no math whiz, but it was about 2pm, my flight left at 5:15, and we were averaging about 10 kph: not going to make it. Fortunately, we exited after a while, and it was smooth sailing into the terminal. After a three hour lay-over in San Francisco, I arrived in Denver with no problems.

    While I was in San Francisco, I reflected on my time in Korea and developed my top ten list.

    10. Watching Korail staff bow every time they entered and departed the train car.

    9. Walking among the incredible pyramid-like tombs in Gyeongju.

    8. Being surprised to see a puppy in a potato bag, along with the other groceries of an older Korean lady. He'll be her pet, right?

    7. Seeing the monk wearing earbuds.

    6. Eating Korean barbeque.

    5. Attending a barbeque in Korea.

    4. Feeling completely and utterly perplexed by a toilet (digital bidet).

    3. Noticing the Spam holiday gift packs at the store.

    2. Performing 108 bows in a centuries' old shrine.

    1. Spending time with Jay and getting to meet Imy.
    Read more