Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Sunchaser

    October 27, 2018 in Indonesia ⋅ 🌧 82 °F

    I flew out of Denver, right after sunset on Thursday. For 22 hours, my plane flew west, chasing the sun. It wasn’t until 90 minutes from Singapore that the sun caught up to me from the east. There isn’t anything quite as awful as being cooped up in a plane for endless hours in the dark. Well, except sitting on a plane for endless hours and having a short connection. When I arrived in Singapore, the United representative had my name on a sign, as I came out of the plane. Becasue of the delay leaving San Francisco,she let me know what gate to connect and added, “Hurry. They are holding the plane for you.”

    So I ran from one concourse to the next, when it suddenly dawned on me that I had no idea how far away it was and I was in a full on sprint. I ran out of steam just short of the gate, where I saw all the other passengers just sitting around, waiting to board. Apparently there was no hurry after all.
    Read more