Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    It had to happen sometime

    May 14, 2018 in Canada ⋅ ☀️ 24 °C

    "No, it's only $9," said the caretaker as he counted out the $18 Sheree had put in the envelope. It was the next words I never expected to hear.

    "Yes sir, you are correct," replied the caretaker, "but for seniors," he said with a pause looking straight into my eyes, "it's half price." The knowing smiling on his face didn't match the blank look on mine as he handed back a note and some coin.

    Did he just say senior? Do I look that old already?

    Before I could think of words in reply, he'd moved on. "So you're from Australia?" He queried. "What part?" The conversation left money and age behind, but his words were worthy of more contemplation.

    Our stay at Boundary Creek Provincial Park was as far off grid as Sheree was happy to do. With no power or water it was still OK - the site was next to a flowing stream in the Canadian bush, you couldn't ask for more... right?

    It's finally happened. I've been considered a senior. If it means 50% discounts, I suppose I'll take it!
    Read more