Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    Coromandel Town: AKA Pottery Heaven

    September 24, 2022 in New Zealand ⋅ ☀️ 17 °C

    Leaving behind the flats of yesterday, I journeyed 60km up and over two hills to Coromandel Town. The route was stunning with expansive ocean views and lots of lush ponga trees dotting the narrow, winding road. An absolute highlight was making it to one of the crests and hearing church bells ring through the mountains as I soaked in the view. I arrived in Coromandel with enough time to grab lunch at a local cafe. The vegan option was absolutely nothing to write home about but I did end up scratching down numbers & addresses of kind folks offering me a place to stay. There was a big group of riders who’d journeyed over the 309 road for a day excursion. Impressed by their Lycra, attitude, and age, we all quickly got to chatting. I’d come to stay with a few of them (Shazzy and Chrissy later in my journey).

    Finished off the day with a visit at the Barry Brickell Railway where back in the 60’s a dedicated potter built the Driving Creek Railway to harvest clay from the mountainside. I finished off the night with a swim and a Backcountry Meal at the most serene campsite, Tuck’s Bay. This spot was a little hike-a-bike in from the main Long Bay Campsite but well worth it to avoid the camper vans and kiddos!
    Read more