Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Settling In

    August 31, 2015 in Ecuador ⋅ ⛅ 35 °C

    Today was jungle day. Tourist jungle, so no animals but still cool to see all the plants, insects and birds. The colourful toucan and kingfishers were winners. As was the magical cure to my cold! It was the bark of one tree, mixed with water then snorted. Burns like hell and for 5 minutes my whole face was streaming water: but after that, I was (and even better remain) completely snot free. Hooray! Then another so far trip highlight as we floated peacefully down the river on tubes. Picture: jungle flora all around, warm turquoise water. blazing sunshine, gentle current and all around birds and crickets. Pretty close to heaven? As I am now, tucked in bed (under my mosquito net therefore completely safe) typing this while outside it is raining gently. Sounds just like those soothing tapes you get to help you sleep. Except real.Read more