Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    We done a mountain!

    November 16, 2018 in New Zealand ⋅ ☀️ 18 °C

    We were up at 6 to get ready for our Tongiriro hike. This would normally horrify me but we’ve been going to bed so early I probably got more sleep than I normally do at home. We got on a bus with a load of hardcore keeno walkers and I felt a little bit like got no gear or idea in my Topshop jeans and fake down jacket. At least I had walking boots which came in very handy later on. We bimbled along for an hour or so taking loads of photos and wondering what all the fuss was about until we got to the ascent which was an hour of scraggy pathways and deep steps. My legs were not up to getting up the in one go or even two so we stopped when I felt like they were going. There were quite a few tough spots but we went at our own pace and breathed a big sigh of relief when we got to the top. The views were so surreal and utterly breathtaking. The descent was interesting as it was basically sliding down gravelly sand and trying to avoid sliding off the side of the mountain. Again, never been so grateful for my boots. We stopped at the emerald lakes for food then plodded on, wending our way down the side of the mountain. It was an incredible experience and has made me want to do more walking (I might not be saying this when I can’t walk tomorrow)Read more