Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    spacchetti bolognese

    July 31, 2022 in Italy ⋅ ☀️ 23 °C

    bike problems to start the sweat (and day)

    before I left Ferrara I wanted to check on my steerer bearings because they were kinda crooked and not working properly
    It turned out that the outer ring broke multiple times (which happened before) and because of inconsiderate re-installation of myself after putting AirTags inside the frame the inner ring wasn’t flush with the outer ring. What could’ve turned out as a total desaster was actually fine, it was just a lil‘ of a mess to reassemble the broken parts and of course horrible to discover😂
    problems fixed, supermarket stop after 30k for breakfast and after 50k visiting bologna.
    Bologna - hosting the oldest continouusly running University is a beautiful town located in the heart of the also governed by Emilia–Romagna on the southern end of the Po-delta
    architecturally like Ferrara but bigger, more lively and somehow touristically attracted as well 🤓
    Of course I tried Ragú in an old-style tavern-like looking restaurant, which was good.
    For the first time of my trip I saw a group of italian cyclists, before I went direzzione Imola, the former UCI WC-host, which features a smaller but same style old town as well. It was gettin hotter and hotter and 2kgs of ice cooles my neck as I was heading to San Marino. I found a cheap Hostel there where I arrived after some very grueling inclines which featured more than 20% when saying 10%.
    Btw - did I mention I‘m riding on my big ring all day? 5 weeks ago my front derailleur malfunctioned and is now inactive after a few minutes of being in the small ring. I didn’t quite get a solution there because the actual problem seemed very electric and small
    whatever, I arrived at the very shady Hostel greeted by a weird host, who was getting angry at me for not wanting to lock my 14k bike outside. But he eventually talked me over and so I went for that awesome cable car to the top of San Marino. Awesome how that felt! In the dusk to arrive at that special location - that venice on a fortress - was so special. I really enjoyed the most beautiful evening of my trip until then just to get back to the most unpleasant stay ever🤣
    but i slept good and nothin got stolen so 👍🏼
    Read more