Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    bellissima

    August 10, 2022 in Italy ⋅ ☀️ 28 °C

    what a day again!!

    leaving Roma with a smiling and a crying eye because I really felt the density of things happening/known to having happened here and was overwhelmed enough to stay another day but I‘ve decided against it. It really is a remarkable city with soo much still-existent buildings not to forget the holy see and the powerful institution governed by it. Think of their net worth for once..

    As I left, I never really got running but that didn’t matter because there was 200km with 2500m of el gain to go.
    Halfway through I stopped for affogato and mint-granita, my new favorite ho cycling-stop combination ft caffeine, sugars and freshness through lemon or sometimes mint.
    The area got lonelier and lonelier so it was also getting harder to keep going just as temperatures increased as well. I came across a beautiful lake where again mostly Italians went on vacation for and somehow I liked that places more.

    It kept getting harder as last minute navigating increased as - being in tuscany - strade bianche really happen more often than you think..

    So I went for a even shorter and flatter route to stumble across a destroyed bridge. luckily I was able to walk across the river-bed as it was dried out.
    Some 500m of climbing in the end to finish a hard and long day were kind a hard but absolutely rewarding because when I made it to the top I found myself in the most beautiful hill-town I’ve ever been where eventually at that exact day a wine fest was going on!
    I checked into my castle-like hotel which was decorated lovely and went out.
    to say the rest: 🥂🍝🍷🥘
    Read more