Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    again no incidents?!

    August 12, 2022 in Italy ⋅ ⛅ 23 °C

    todays breakfast by kind host Leonardo was an italian one. He explained: an italian breakfast consists of either 1 coffee and a cookie, a tea and a cookie, no coffee 1 cookie, no tea 1 cookie, 1 coffee no cookie, 1 tea no cookie or nothing at all.
    so I ordered the obligatory „coffee“ but yea, he’s a great guy but it’s really been no hotel. hygiene and tidyness was a thing as well. I liked to think if the people who know me threw their worst prophecies about my future together, thats what I‘ld be like.
    So him crossing my path resembles what I should not become!

    Nevertheless, my real good italian breakfast took place at my first dbv of the day, Prato. 3,70€ for good espresso and 2 filled sweet treats 🤌🏻🤌🏻
    Pistoia was also not that special, but Lucca was. great old town inside medieval castle walls, nice churches all over the place.
    Pisa offered the same experience but with a leaning tower as we all know. great. been there.

    Now onto the next loong stretch of beach, at Viareggio. complete homecountry-tourism area as well as south of Rimini at the adriatic.

    finally the seashore featured cliffs again to act as a glance of what I‘ll be seeing tomorrow and I arrived in THE italian Navy town of the west coast, La Spezia. shortly after the city border naval ships looking like at least destroyers greeting me, so great. I‘ve been a military fan since a long time but just recently discovered a series which I love (the last ship) so finally seeing a biig naval ship felt like a topping on the cake.

    La Spezia is beautiful and just the beginning of la cinque terre, which I‘ll enjoy tomorrow.
    After looking for a place to eat and everywhere getting told they‘re full despite they weren’t, I hit up gmaps again and fund a superb looking, modern, chic and well-lit restaurant offering awesome-looking food as well. I called, asked for a table (in italiano) and é voila, I was in.
    Great food, real good atmosphere, awesome interior, delightful ambiente and professional and kind staff.

    Good enough for closing what feels like my last dinner because I don’t expect much of Genova (yes I like haven cities🤥) and reaally wanna go home again, but by bike, respectfully.

    buona notte
    Read more