Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 22

    thought-to-be best part of the journey

    August 13, 2022 in Italy ⋅ ⛅ 22 °C

    the lack of hospitality made me leave the rental room in La Spezia very quick. same procedure as everyday, this time climbing from the start but whilst seeing naval ships so that was ok. I kind of didn’t wanna do it anymore but more than that I wanna go home so there’s that. I didn’t enjoy Cinqueterre that much because the flora seemed to be the usual italian within-autostrada-roundabout and no real foresty one. that changed when the streets went higher after the first part - which felt more like a rainforest but with mediterranean flora - and a lovely scatterly-arranged pine forest became the main player.
    Climbing still wasn’t enjoyable, riding downhill was neither because of the degrading rear tire and front brake pads. flat parts were unexpectedly few this time.. just before the longest straight a young local passed me by bike and I sat in his slipstream before we had a chat and were continuing together.
    We parted ways as he nearly arrived and I continued to Portofino. Most beautiful small marina town I ever saw and potentially there is.
    Went for Trofie al Pesto, for a quick swim and a coffee before going on to Genova. ups and downs in the route at least made me push a little more. When approaching from the east, Genova looks quite good actually with all the big appartment houses located on the hillside facing different directions and featuring diverse colors.
    Then I found my Hostel for the night which was rather expensive (91€) but it turned out really good. On my room I met two german girls who are currently Inter-railing around. We had a nice chat about traveling and the city before she told me she once did MUC-VEN by feet😱. That was crazy to hear, big goals that family must’ve set for themselves. I told her that I was just passing by Venetia on my 4th stage whilst it took them 4 weeks.
    Then I searched for a good local dinner, found it and made it back home absolutely food-drunk. My belly was about to burst as I had a pre-dinner sandwich with supermarket ingredients.
    So I fell into bed and was to tired to even get this one out and ready.
    Read more