Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 187

    Waiting for nice weather and people

    March 22, 2017 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 18 °C

    Since Monday morning there are to less people for an load and the weather was bad until Thursday. So there was no jumping.

    I searched a bit for work for a few days. And the only thing I could find was mystery shopping. You get paid to go to a shop and pretend if you are shopping and afterwards you have to fill in a report. There was an motorbike dealership close to the dropzone where a mystery shopper was needed. It was only 75km one way. So I said that I wanted to do it but that I want more because of the fuel I spend. In stead of $55 I asked $90 and I got it. So that was good!

    While I still was in a bigger city I found some new shoes because the old once are a bit fucked. Hopefully the new ones will last just as long.

    Tuesday evening I went to the bathroom and almost stepped on a spider with a lot of tiny babies on her back. It is an wolf spider, it can live up to 11 years in ideally conditions. From the venom form a bite you can get a red swelling, milt pain or itching. They only bite if you provoke them a lot of times. So just leave it be. Here on the dropzone are thousands of tiny Spiders and a few big ones. One bit bigger one is an golden orb spider, it's Web is total 5 meters wide and 1 meter high, Amazing to see. The golden orb spider has similar venom to the black widow but only a lot less. So you could get sick form it. This spider mainly stays in his Web. I also saw some redbacks and maybe 10 other kinds of Spiders. But as with every animal, if you leave them be then they are not gonna attack you.

    Wensday I learned how to pack an rig (backpack that contains a Parachute) because I need to be able to pack an rig for my b-licence.

    Thursday I packed a rig again just to practice. Also I did an entanglement test. All the lines are trough another and I had to get everything out within 30 minutes. I also got a call this day form a project leader of McLean farms what's located near brisbane. Prinzen sold egghandling machines to McLean. Prinzen was the company I worked for in the Netherlands. So afterall I get an job in my own branch, how awsome!

    Friday I also packed a few rigs. Just practicing for Saturday and I'm jumping again!

    Saturday I had to wait the whole morning because there was a lot of clouds and I wasn't allowed to jump with only an a license. But in the end I got on a load and did my last B-rel. It took me a while to get to the group but at last I got the dock and that was the only goal to accomplish. My landing was perfect. So I'm finished with my courses! Yeah! Now skydiving isn't that expensive anymore.
    Read more