Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    New Friends and a Relaxing Day

    November 30, 2023 in Curacao ⋅ 🌬 29 °C

    I called down to the front desk for a kettle for Gabi's tea, they said they would have one sent up. I then had to call again half an hour later. An hour later, we are still waiting. I'm not happy with the service on this. I realize that we are on ‘Island Time' however, these kinds of requests should not take this long. Once again, we are greeted to a beautiful morning. No cruise ship yet but sunshine and 27 C (80 F) outside.

    We had another wonderful breakfast in the buffet. Some things were different but they still had all the staples. I try to eat healthy (no carbs, no sugars) in the mornings, it gets progressively worse during the day. After breakfast Gabi and I took a walk around the grounds. We found the kiddy splash pool, the entertainment stage, the dive pier and shop and the beach area. This place was once a fort protecting the island from those pesky British. It was called For Piscaderabay. They had simple batteries built with cannons in place. They were supposed to fortify the batteries with towers but that never happened. In 1804 some English guy named John Bligh landed and took over the place. In 1819 the Dutch came back and retook the island.
    I stopped by the dive shop and asked about getting some snorkel gear. It is available for rent so that might be on the books for Saturday. We then headed over to the pool area and found a sun bed. These are much more comfortable than the loungers and I can get in and out of them unassisted. Whew!

    We met a nice couple named Jason and Kendra, who are from Guelph, Ontario. Neighbours to us in the grand scheme of things. The pair of them are a hoot. Kendra loves being in Curacao and has been a repeat offender for 7 or 8 times. We start to talk about travel and well there goes two hours. We hit it off immediately. Maybe someone to start travelling with? Time will tell if they can handle my kind of crazy. I sent her a link to this blog, so hopefully we'll see them again.

    I took a swim and then Gabi headed back up to the room and I laid around reading. I went back up to the room to get Gabi for lunch and she told me she couldn't get into the safe. Yesterday we couldn't open it, so I called down to the front desk and they sent someone up. Apparently the batteries were loose. I didn't even know they were battery operated. Today, I asked if we could get the batteries changed. After a wonderful lunch, Gabi went to the pool area and I headed up to wait for the safe to be opened. It had no power again and all our stuff was inside. The person who came up had to go and get a master unit to get into the safe. He changed the batteries and everything is good so far.

    We have booked a facial for Saturday at the spa and tomorrow we are going to try to do the sunset cruise again. Last year we went but the boat broke and we couldn't leave the dock. Let’s hope this year is better!

    Gabi and I spent the afternoon by the pool, they have great music going on. Everything from the 70’s, 80’s and 90's. Gabi could name every song and artist with just a couple of bars. Gabi went back up to the room and I spent some time jumping in and out of the water, chatting with Jason and Kendra and reading. This is a very relaxing trip so far.
    After a shower, we head down for a late dinner. Let's try seafood today. Gabi is not really a seafood people but she was a trooper for me. Gabi had the crab cake and lobster bisque while I had the crab cake and the chef’s special which was fish with rice and grilled vegetables. Both were amazing. Gabi was pleasantly surprised that the seafood was something she could like. Gabi had the key lime for desert and I had the coconut layer cake.

    Last night as we were coming back from dinner, they had a parade with drums and horns and people dressed in brightly coloured Mardi Gras costumes. It was fun to watch and listen to.

    Well tomorrow is another day.
    Read more