Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Sick as a Dog, Even in Paradise

    December 1, 2023 in Curacao ⋅ 🌬 30 °C

    Last night I started to feel unwell around 4 AM. This continued and I was wondering if I had too much sun or if it was something I ate. Well by 7 AM it was full our flu like symptoms. Fever and chills, vomiting and diarrhea. That was my day. Trying to rest in between bought of being sick. I tried to get some ginger ale but after two calls down to the front desk, I gave up.
    We were supposed to go on the sunset cruise but that was a no go. I feel bad for Gabi, since this is the second year in a row that we didn't get to go.

    Next…At 10 PM our air conditioner decided to give up the ghost. We tried to settle down with out it. Two hours later, we are both up due to the heat and stuffiness. The windows don't open and I don't want to open the door because of bugs and lizards. I tried to call down to the front desk but there was no answer. I tried room service, also no answer. So I got dressed and went down to the lobby. No one was around. I found someone who was closing up the bar. He told be to sit and be patient, maybe they went to eat. Really? Only one person for nightshift? After 10 minutes the lady came back looking like she just woke up. She called three different numbers to find someone to send up. The young man came promptly and had to leave. Now at 2:00 AM in the morning, we have to pack up and get reassigned to another room.
    Read more