Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Last day!

    January 25, 2020 in Austria ⋅ ☁️ 4 °C

    Wow, last day. Tom went skiing and I stayed back to pack. I went to the gym (first time all week) to begin getting back into shape. Then Gayle and I went to meet the boys for lunch.

    Neil Potter and I spent the morning skiing some off piste runs that tired us out by noon. We met the girls for lunch and also happened to find some more friends we have made throughout the week. Michael and Lena from Sweden joined us for lunch. Dining in the Alps is much more pleasant than dining at a Canadian ski resort. Here there are waiters, menus, choices you don’t have in Canada, all at the same price you pay everywhere else in Austria. You don’t have to line up to get your food or drink. As a result, you spend more time dining and talking with friends. It does seem civilized.

    Neil, Michael and I skied down for our last run and returned skis. We had done 4200 metres vertical for the day, which was about average for the week. I was anxious to get the race results, not so for Neil. We didn’t compete in the same category as I skied in the over 60 group. Also Neil said he didn’t try hard, he just wanted to make all the gates.
    Read more