Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Shark infested waters!

    May 23, 2022 in Ecuador ⋅ ⛅ 22 °C

    Dianne and I brought some snorkeling gear with us and we rented more. We added short wet suits to our list as the water is an unseasonably cold 68 degree Fahrenheit. I have convinced Dianne that the white tipped shark is the only shark with no teeth, so she has agreed to swim in the shark infested waters of Isabella Island. I would describe her as cautious when it comes to snorkeling with sharks but with very little motivation, she’s in the water. I get in after her and when she holds my arm as we prepare to move out for this adventure she holds my arm like she is trying to choke a cougar. Even so, we do get going and swim somewhat together. The area is lava reefs that have canyon like walls. The swim is through these canyons and you see fish, sharks and the odd sea lion. I can tell that Dianne is nervous about the toothless sharks because when she holds on to me it is a strong grip.Read more