Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Long day

    August 4, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 18 °C

    Today was my longest day so far, about 14 miles. This is what I’m going to have to average most days to get to Santiago on time. It was another day of rain, which was discouraging, but I walked with a friend for about a third of the way before she stopped at an earlier town to stay the night. It’s nice to make a trail friend and hopefully meet up in the same town at different points along the way. There’s an easy rapport with other pilgrims and once you meet someone once, if you see them again it’s like a mini reunion.

    As beautiful as they are, I’m glad to be on the other side of the Pyrenees and hoping for easier terrain tomorrow. I felt completely exhausted by the time I got to my destination town. The downhill from the mountains was rocky and slippery and took a lot of care not to fall. I went to the hostel for a communal dinner and felt reassured when I saw everyone else hobbling around with sore muscles and sore feet. I’m starting to realize how long this walk is!

    I’m praying sleep works miracles and I can wake up tomorrow and do it all over again.
    Read more