Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Tourist day in Burgos

    August 10, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 30 °C

    I took the bus today from Logrono to Burgos. The route the bus took was along the same road that much of the Camino in this section follows. I was glad to be able to see the landscape and have a sense for this part of the trail, but I also felt content in my decision not to walk it. The trial was long and dusty and wound through fields and along the road. It looked brutal to walk in the sun and heat. I’m glad to have more time for the part of the trail that I hope to really enjoy.

    When I was researching places to stay for the trip, I decided to treat myself to a fancy hotel in Burgos, mostly for the amazing views of the Cathedral. I was able to change my reservation to still stay here, and it’s such a beautiful place to stay. (Tomorrow I start the albergue life.)

    I didn’t realize the Cathedral in Burgos is a World Heritage Site, but I can understand why. Construction of the Cathedral started in 1221 and finished in the 15th and 16 century. The inside had so many rooms and sculptures and pieces of art it was more like a museum than a church.

    Overall it’s been a really pleasant “tourist” day. Tomorrow I’ll continue on to Leon and from there I’ll rejoin the trail in Hospital de Orbigo in the foothills of the mountains in Galicia. I’m feeling good about my decisions so far, even if they’ve been challenging to make in the moment.
    Read more