Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Fishing in Goyambokka

    December 13, 2021 in Sri Lanka ⋅ ☁️ 26 °C

    Goyambokka, 11am

    I'm sitting in front of the ocean with fantastic views of a sandy beach and coconut trees. This sight could perfectly define paradise. I'm at Bamboo bar, the place I've spent most of the time with my new fisherman friend. Today I woke up as arranged at 5am to go fishing. It was still dark night and the sea was rough, so it looked impossible to sail. We waited, smoked som 'ganja' (worst idea ever) and finally Nuwan told me to go throw the net on the beach. After a couple of unsuccessful stands, the sea looked much quieter, so... Why not?

    We walked to a super small secluded beach where Nuwan had his boat, we got all the stuff we'd need, jumped on the boat and started paddling. Fishing in the Indian ocean sounds exciting enough, but doing it in a incredibly narrow canoe, with no net but a couple of strings with hooks, is such an experience I will never forget. We catched a barracuda we kept alive so we could try to get a bigger fish. We spent around 3 hours out there. I got quite seasick. We weren't particularly lucky with the 'big fosh' but we did catch a couple of fishes instead.

    Then I went back to pack my things in the cabana and after a filling breakfast I went again to Bamboo to discover it was sunny! After helping out Nuwan and his brother with some refurbishment work for their hut, we started cooking the fish we catched and I learned how to spice it Sri Lankan way. I believe I haven't had any meat yet in this trip!
    Read more