Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Galle

    December 11, 2021 in Sri Lanka ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    After nearly 3½ hours I arrived to Galle and headed to a local restaurant to taste the typical fish-yellow curry, which was delicious, at Elita's Kitchen.

    I walked around Galle Dutch Fort. A very different sight, reminder of the colonial past of the island. The sun was lower and clouds were showing up, so I got onto a tuk-tuk and headed to Dikwella. Thanks God I did so! After a few minutes ride it startwd to rain heavily. 'Heavy' like: rather than a tuk-tuk, the driver and me wished we had a boat...

    We spent the 2-hours drive talking a bit, despite his little English. He told me he loves football, seconds before I realized he was crippled. He had lost a leg during the civil war. He had joined the army but the Tigers -the Tamil guerrilla- attacked his battalion in the jungle of northern Sri Lanka. Quite interesting story. I tried to pull his tongue about the civil conflict. I wanted to know his point of view as a Sinhalese buddhist, but also as a victim. He wouldn't say much: he confusingly associated the Tamils with muslims and limited to say that muslims are good at making business.

    After the torrential rain we made it to Hiriketiya, where I'm staying at a modest guest-house. I took a shower, went for a well-deserved beer and I just finished my red crab curry. Delicious seafood!
    Read more