Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    A Day In Madrid

    October 19, 2023 in Spain ⋅ 🌧 15 °C

    Pretty good flight, we got in an hour early. I actually got a little sleep on board for a change, which helped my day a lot. With 7 hours to kill before my train to Leon, I went in search of the mythical Bocadilla de Calamari, or squid sandwich. This is a specialty of Madrid cuisine, which is odd because Madrid is in the center of the country and not on any coast. The quest involved researching the subway and the in-city rail system and transferring several times through station construction to get to a recommended area of the city. When I got off the underground and started walking on the streets it was POURING RAIN!!I I ended up going under a storefront and pulling my rain gear out of my pack. The poncho was a new low in the Madrid fashion scene I’m guessing. The bocadilla de calamari lived up to its reputation I’m please to report. I wandered around in the driving rain for a while and then made my way back to catch my train. I’m now hurling along through the limited visibility at 180 mph on my way to Leon. I love these high-speed trains!
    Later: As soon as I got to Leon it started pouring rain again for the walk to my hotel near the cathedral. Just when I got to the cathedral the clouds suddenly parted, illuminating the beautiful structure.
    Read more