Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    El Acebo from Rabanal

    October 25, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 9 °C

    Had a great sleep last night. Waited but the bus didn’t show. Found a bar open and got coffee and breakfast before hitting the road. I had been concerned about the path up the hill, but it really wasn’t as bad as I expected.

    Arriving in Foncebadon, I encountered an accordion concert in progress! After a hot cup of tea, went on to Cruz Ferro at the top of the mountains. Tradition is to bring a rock from home representing your sins and cast it at the foot of the cross. I forgot to bring a rock, again, so I guess I’m still burdened.

    While I had worried about going up the mountain, I should have worried more about getting down. It was a rough rest of the day. Steep grades, exposed bedrock, and loose rock on top of exposed rock faces. My knees don’t do downhill well in any form, but this was special. And it started raining about that time. Going slowly, I made it in pretty good shape, but definitely feeling the day.
    Read more