Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Camponaraya from Ponferrada

    October 27, 2023 in Spain ⋅ 🌧 10 °C

    Private room, so I enjoyed sleeping in. I didn’t have to check out until noon, so I left my gear and went out. Chocolate and churros is a Spanish delicacy that I had neglected to try on the previous Camino. Decided to try it out and wow! The chocolate is so thick it’s almost pudding. And delicious, and you just have to dip your deep fried churros in it! Massive chocolate and sugar high.

    I then speed walked to the Ponferrada Castle and examined it in great detail. It’s a really well preserved castle built in 12th century by the Templar Knights to protect pilgrims on the camino from robbers and extortion. Most of today’s pictures are of the castle.

    Started walking after noon and it was pretty nondescript most of the day. Getting into and out of big cities is not a high point of the camino. Got rained on a couple of times, but nothing like the last few days.
    Read more