Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    A Balsa from Hospital de la Condesa

    October 30, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 8 °C

    Spain changed to daylight savings time last night. Nice to see light at 7:30 instead of 8:30. Did laundry when I woke up. Got breakfast at the town bar, and started walking around 10. It was ups and downs all day, but an overall loss of altitude coming down from O Cebreiro.

    This was a very mixed up day weather wise. Started out in a light drizzle, then a good stretch of sun, then high wind and hard rain, then sun, then rain again as I finished the day’s walk a little after 5. I’m thinking of adopting that old fisherman’s proverb “the worst day fishing is better than the best day at work.” With this much practice it has become easy to get in and out of my slicker. I can do it without taking my pack off and don’t even stop walking any more. A few other people walking, but not as many as previous days.

    I’ve been working through some physical problems as I walk. My walking style has adjusted accordingly. At home I usually walk if not briskly, at least at a good consistent pace. For a long haul like the camino, that pace has been causing me some problems as I get into shape. I’ve found that I do much better if I walk slower. It’s more like I’m moseying the camino rather than walking it. Today felt much better. I’m sure I’ll finally get in shape about the time I get to Santiago!

    Tonight I’m staying at a nice family run albergue. A Dutch man and an Italian woman opened this albergue 10 years ago. They have a young daughter who speaks multiple languages. I had a very nice vegan meal by myself, I’m the only one staying here tonight. I like supporting the smaller family run businesses.
    Read more