Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Portomarin from Sarria

    November 1, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 11 °C

    Another mixed rain/sun day with lots of wind. Reports are that there is a major storm affecting all of Europe and northern Spain. For me it works out as mostly overcast, a little bit of sun, and then hammered by wind and rain, several times a day.

    It’s All Saints Day, so, a lot of businesses are closed. I think it’s most similar to Memorial Day in that people put flowers on the graves of their loved ones.

    The trails are running through chestnut and oak forests. I remember how much Dale and I appreciated the shade when we walked the camino a couple of summers ago. There is very little shade in the central part of this route (the Meseta).

    I passed the 100 kilometer marker today. This is the least distance you can walk an still qualify for the Compostela certificate. The number of people on the trail has increased notably. When I went looking for dinner, there was not much open because of the holiday. The only place I found was full of young people who were walking the Camino. They were also doing drink chugging contests with accompanying clapping and chants. I am so disappointed that today’s youth has not learned from my past mistakes.
    Read more