Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Sirubari, Lamjung

    January 25, 2017 in Nepal ⋅ ☀️ 29 °C

    Doing more and more teaching at school it seems. Today was math and computers! There is actually a computer lab here with 3 working computers. Students are supposed to be practicing typing but are more interested in drawing pictures on Paint. Getting them to focus on a task with the language barrier is difficult, but I suppose we manage to get things done. I should add though, that both Math and Computer classes are taught entirely in English.

    Instead of eating lunch at the school the female teachers and myself went into the Village to a Wedding Party. The ceremony itself was yesterday from what I understand, and today was the party where the entire village was invited to participate. The couple was seated in front of a circle of offerings, bowls made of leaves filled with money, food, and flowers. Above the offerings was a very pretty knit cloth suspended by four Bamboo poles also covered in leaves and flowers. Seating with the couple were two older gentlemen, who were reading something from a book. For obvious reasons I couldn't take pictures and no one I was with spoke English well enough to explain what was going on. It was pretty though! At some cue that I missed we were invited to eat. And oh man was there a lot of food! The Nepali sure know how to eat... It's too much for me to be honest. But of course to refuse or not finish everything on your plate is offensive. I've eaten more each day here than I typically do in two days at home.. At least it's all healthy foods. Hoping that I don't gain a bunch of weight as a result.. I'm not really worried though, all the people here are so thin and they eat like this all the time! After school, some of the male teachers went down to the celebration. I was invited to go again but I declined. Oh! On our way back from eating at the party, myself and one other woman were walking back along the stairs in the picture, and were nearly attacked by monkeys! She grabbed a stick and started waving it at them and they backed off.. If I had been alone I don't even know how I would have reacted because I didn't know they would have approached us! Wish I had been able to get a photo, yes apparently I'm one of those people ;)

    In the evening, one of Beda's relatives, cousin I think, came over to talk to Grandma. She speaks no English and I speak no Nepali but we were trying to communicate. Eventually I pulled out a book for those learning Nepali and she showed me the pronunciation of a few words so I now know a whole 10 words, better than the 1 I did before ;) Actually, in writing the language is starting to make sense but I still can't translate what's said orally. Probably the day I leave is the day I'll make progress :P
    Read more