Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 30

    Sirubari, Lamjung

    February 9, 2017 in Nepal ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    This morning I "slept in" until 7:30 am and spent the morning before school talking and helping cut vegetables for breakfast. After breakfast, Bed and I again left the group to make it to school on time.

    At school I spent most of the morning transferring my photos to the school computer for the staff to have access to when I'm gone. There were a lot of people at the school in the morning coming in and out. I was given a welcome flower from my friend's father and a few people came to look at the photos I was transferring as well. I also spent some time discussing Sudarsan's business with him and his ideas for a website. While in Kathmandu I plan on helping him to start building the site and getting some photos and logos edited. I think that I'll give him a few of my photos to use on his site. Why not? That's an expression they say here a lot that I love "why not" and "what can we do". They're so laid back it's great. While in the office Sudarsan messenger called Conrad, a previous volunteer here who is also from BC and currently studying at the University of Washington. We've been talking a bit on Facebook as well and I'm hoping that when I return we'll be able to meet in person! Bed also came by for the messenger call and was very excited to be talking to Conrad. Making connections world wide.

    At some point I was called upstairs to the Farewell/Thank You Ceremony for the Japanese Group. That explained all the people in the office! A huge portion of the community showed up and we were all crammed into the room. Hanging on the back wall was a banner that the Japanese group made with the students, a tree with handprints of each student as the leaves. It looks quite nice! The ceremony started with introductions, each person stood and said their name and where they lived, including myself. There was a lot of talking next from a few different people in the community. I'm imagining words of thanks and gratitude. Because the Japanese group leader, Shranay, speaks Nepali everything was translated directly into Japanese so I understood nothing. Except that I heard my name mentioned a few times and I was pointed to, but no comprehension at the time. Later I asked Shranay what was said and he explained that they weren't saying thanks/good bye to me as well because I'm staying a bit longer, makes sense! After the talking was finished the group presented a number of gifts that they brought with them to the students and community. The gifts included a laptop, soccer ball, volleyball, books, pencils, paints, etc. Very generous. There was lots of clapping and appreciation from everyone :) And lots and lots of photos being taken! I was designated as the photo taker and had three cameras going at once. I wanted someone to help me but I guess others aren't comfortable using a camera, I've been receiving a lot of compliments on my photos from people here.

    Afterward the farewell ceremony we had a late lunch, finishing the chicken from yesterday. So many people! The Japanese group ate in the main kitchen area, the community members in the classrooms next door, and the teachers outside by the fire pit. The same area that we tend to meet at mid day when there's a lull in classes. I chatted with the teachers a bit, this time about food. Apparently I should give mutton another chance... It's the only meat that a lot of people here eat! Most people eat chicken too, but mutton is universal. I don't know.. If the opportunity comes up I'll try it otherwise I won't be upset if it doesn't work out :p

    After lunch we had a short time before school was over so Shranay, one of the other Japanese students, and myself tried to change the language of Microsoft Office on the laptop from Japanese to English. Turns out that it's something that needs to be paid for, a language pack. We ran out of time to get it done though so I'll have to figure it out on my own some other time. The Nepali language pack is free though so maybe I'll do that instead, it's probably more useful for them at the school anyway!

    The group stayed behind longer at the school so I went back with the locals and we had tea and chatted a bunch until the group returned, then went to wash, then returned again. Tonight's dinner was very popular with the group! Bobita made a special rice with butter today and spinach again. Many people in the group came asking for seconds where usually they don't. I ate inside with the family and we all had rice with milk and bananas. I notice that only the locals have that privilege, not enough to go around I guess. Again, feeling the love as I'm included in these activities!

    After dinner I helped with the dishes again before the boys and I snuck off next door to share some wine with the neighbour. We had a snack of chicken and talked for a while. It was kind of funny, the secrecy that went along with the whole process haha. I guess because the Japanese group doesn't drink? After socializing for a bit we returned to our room to play some more cards. Our games were cut a bit short by assisting the group in packing their things. Tomorrow they leave at 5am from the house to walk to Bhotewodar. Some of them aren't able to carry their bags so Bed has arranged for porters to come by and carry the bags down for them. After hearing that I volunteered to go down to town with the group and help carry things should anyone need the assistance..
    Read more