Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 32

    Free Day, Sirubari, Lamjung

    February 11, 2017 in Nepal ⋅ ☀️ 19 °C

    Saturday today! I woke up after a fantastic sleep and caught up on some writing until breakfast. I then went to the cistern and washed some clothes, I think I'm getting the hang of it. All I can say is good thing I only brought black socks because there is so much dirt here it just gets everywhere, seeps in to clothing even through shoes. After washing clothes I spent the entire day working on the school's new laptop. The main reason it took so long is the poor singal at the house, so when the laptop was charged up and I couldn't do anymore without downloading some programs I wandered over to the school where the signal is stronger. I figured out how to change some programs into English and Nepali, made an instructions page, set the school up with an email address, configured bookmarks and shortcuts and the start screen, and just did the grunt work that comes with owning a new computer. I'm feeling better about leaving so soon now that this is done. I just need to go over a few things with the teachers about the computer and it's all on them :) And a few things left to do on the school computers and finished!

    I wandered back from the school occasionally to charge the computer - I don't have access to the rooms just sitting outside - and during those times I ate, socialized, and had measurements taken! Bobita had a neighbour come over and measure me for what I'm assuming are some traditional Nepali clothing. So honoured and excited! We'll see haha. Fingers crossed :) I made my final trip home after watching the sun set and finishing the final download. Installed the programs at home, ate, and watched TV with Bobita and Grandma before heading to bed. Sounds like Bed is staying in Bhotewodar tonight. I guess a few teachers do that?

    Anyway, I have tomorrow and the following day remaining at school :( I'll have to say my goodbyes and leave for Kathmandu the next day... Time is running short!
    Read more