Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 69

    Free Day in Bangkok

    March 20, 2017 in Thailand ⋅ ⛅ 34 °C

    Today was my last full day in Bangkok. All the other group members aside from Jessica, Erin, and Kayla had caught their flights to go home so the four of us took the time to relax a bit together. We went for lunch to McDonalds of all places lol. Nothing too crazy on that menu, the only things that really stood out were the taro and corn pies you could get ;)

    Afterwards we went to get foot massages near the hotel which was a nice treat. Holly joined us there and afterwards we walked her to a cab so she could catch her flight home.

    When I woke up in the morning I had wanted to see some of the city because I feel like all we've done here is socialize, but I quickly decided that I didn't want to wear temple attire in the scorching heat, especially since we've already seen some great temples and I wanted to spend the last day with the girls! And we did do a bunch of driving through the city so I got a glimpse of it. Have to say that Bangkok doesn't really appeal to me very much architecturally or culturally. It's just full of tourists and people trying to sell you things. I'm sure that we there are good parts to it just like any city, but when you just want some quiet time it's not the place to be ;)

    So anyway, we went to the mall instead... We ended up in Siam Paragon mall which is a very high end, ritzy mall. There were stores like Gucci and the mall employees kept eyeing us like we didn't belong lol. There was an H&M in the mall though which is what we were going for. We were all hoping for new swim suits! I only have one and in Vietnam we'll be spending a lot of time on beaches..

    We had sushi for dinner in the mall! That was delicious, definitely one food that I miss from home. It was expensive though, well comparable to home anyway!

    There was a movie theatre in the mall so afterwards we ended up going to see beauty and the beast! What a great show. And what a great low key day, I needed that... Tomorrow we meet up with the next group of travellers in Vietnam! We met some of them last night and were supposed to meet them tonight as well to go to a sky bar but I just wanted to sleep. We have plenty of time to get to know one another!
    Read more