Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 99

    Last Day in Bangkok

    April 19, 2017 in Thailand ⋅ ⛅ 35 °C

    I had a long sleep in and still felt incredibly tired when I woke up. So I had a nice relaxing day! I had fully intended on visiting Wat Po, a nearby temple but decided against it in the sweltering heat. Instead my roommate and I decided to go visit a fish spa! I was so against them for so long because I was convinced that it wasn't good for the fish to be living in those conditions but I've been assured that they're well taken care of.. I sure hope so. Anyway, that was a crazy experience. Keeping still was incredibly difficult with 50 fish nibbling on your feet! It wasn't so much ticklish as it was tingly, like you were being mildly electrocuted or something. We only did 15 minutes, I don't think that I could have done any longer it was too strange of a feeling! We decided instead to get a foot massage afterwards which was the best decision I've made in a long time ;) Afterwards, we went back and lounged by the pool until it was time for me to say my goodbyes and head to the airport.. I'll see them again for sure! Especially my roommate Kelsey who also lives in BC.

    On my way to the airport I again was struck by how big Bangkok is... It took an hour to get to the airport and there are just huge buildings everywhere! The density is incredible and the amount of traffic. I realize we hardly even scratched the surface.. I'm confident that one day I'll be back to Bangkok though, even if it is just as a layover stop to different destinations :)

    The airport is also massive. And there are silly rules associated with the airline... Like the fact that I couldn't bring bottled water on board even when it was bought after security?! I've never heard of that before.. But whatever, I just kept disturbing the airline staff instead to quench the incessant thirst I seem to develop on flights. All that dry air or something... But I will say that this was the nicest airline I have ever been on for an economy flight. I booked with Qantas but it was operated by Emarites and I understand why people rave about them now. Tons of leg room, wide seats, great entertainment selection, good food, wifi on board, allowing people to data roam, etc etc. They were fantastic! I'd for sure fly with them again.

    The flight is an over nighter and scheduled to arrive in Sydney at 7:40 am! Hoping I can sleep...
    Read more