Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 100

    Arrival in Sydney

    April 20, 2017 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 23 °C

    We arrived in Sydney on time at 7:40 am and I made it through customs, got my bags, found the train, and made it to my hostel within an hour and a half tops. Maybe even less, I think I checked in at about 9:15 or so. An easy city to navigate that's for sure! Upon checking in I claimed my bed in the hostel and unpacked a bit before showering. Then went in search of breakfast and had an amazing Smashed Avocado with egg sandwich at a local restaurant. It cost me though... This is going to be an expensive couple days! Good thing I've decided not to drink at all while I'm here. I have no desire to even see alcohol at this point... What a gong show the last few weeks have been. I'm looking forward to a couple days of quiet. This Hostel doesn't seem like a party place and for that I'm quite glad. Anyway, after breakfast I had a nap because I didn't sleep much on the plane and forced myself out of bed to make it to a free walking tour on time. And as soon as I turned off my alarm my phone and dragged myself out of bed my phone quit working....... It started restarting literally every 2 or 3 minutes, keyboard wouldn't work, no gps, photos not taking properly, no screenshots, no WiFi, nothing.... What a frustrating experience! after the walking tour, which I will describe shortly here, I even went to the Samsung store to see if they could help. But the phone wouldn't stay on long enough for them to even run a diagnostic test... And because it's a different country they can't repair or replace the phone. So annoying! but they were super kind and helpful, great people the Australians. Anyway, after giving up on my phone, turning it off, and leaving it to charge to 100% it seems to be working ok. I won't take it off the charger though for fear that it'll quit working. The Samsung techies suspect a failing motherboard... Don't really know what that means or why it seems to be working now but I just hope it continues to work! mainly for photo taking purposes. When I meet up with Mom she'll bring my computer so I won't need it for anything other than photos...

    But anyway, I went on a free walking tour of the city that was incredible! The guide was a student named Indigo and of course asked for tips at the end but she 1000% deserved them. Funny and knowledgeable we got a great backstory of the city. We started out at St. James Cathedral and ended at the Opera House. There were so many landmarks that we stopped at on the way, I'm incredibly glad I went to the tour instead of doing it on my own. We happened to end at the Opera House at sunset too so that was pretty neat to see. Clear blue skies and warm colours reflecting off the structure... Overall, I had positive impressions of the city and was really interested in hearing all the quirky history of Australia from how it was founded to how the capital city was selected to how booze was once an official currency to how the original settler population were criminals, etc etc. There was so much information that I can't possibly record it all but I really did enjoy the tour. There's a second one that they offer that gives a tour of the Rocks and the criminal history of the area that I'll probably go to tomorrow. Will be tough to get a guide as good as Indigo was though!

    Anyway, as I mentioned, after the walking tour I went to the Samsung store but I also went to check out the meeting point that mom and I agreed upon for the 22!I'm really looking forward to seeing her :) I scoped out the meeting spot and hopefully she won't have any issues finding it. I stayed up tonight to try and call her even though I'm exhausted. I'll be seeing her soon enough! I had dinner at, don't judge me, McDonalds. I needed some comfort food after the stressful phone situation that actually wasn't really all that stressful... I found myself impartial to the fact that I didn't have a phone. Honestly I've become so detached from it in the last while, not having internet access doesn't bother me too much and I don't feel I need it. I was mostly annoyed that I lost access to my books and music! but again, seems to be working but who knows how long that'll last... Maybe it has something to do with the heat? Though it's significantly cooler here than in Bangkok at a lovely 24 degrees in the sun and a chilly 10 degrees at night. Much prefer it to the instant sweat though! Any who, McDonalds has fries with Gravy here as well as truffle parmesan fries and frozen cokes. I'm gonna go back just for the truffle fries and frozen cokes at Ms. Georgia's request ;) Not that I needed any sort of tempting! After dinner I walked to a book store and picked up some physical books the first that I've bought in a while....

    I then returned to the hostel and used their computer to send meeting instructions to mom and talk to Matthew! He's working out of Melbourne right now and has decided to come visit me in Sydney tomorrow night!! I'm super excited about that and am hoping that he'll be able to join mom and I for breakfast the following morning at the very least :) Can't wait to see my cousin again, didn't think it would happen here of all places though haha. After saying goodbye to him I tried to sleep but was too anxious about getting in touch with Mom.. so I read my book on the lovely rooftop patio of the hostel, Big Hostel, until it was an appropriate time to call home. 7am their time, not that they're answering my calls right now, but I left a message! That's all I can do. Just so looking forward to seeing some familiar faces from home <3
    Read more