Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 43

    Nikko Temples and Shrines #3

    October 29, 2023 in Japan ⋅ ☁️ 15 °C

    After paying my respects to Tokugawa Ieyasu, I also visited the tomb of his grandson Iemitsu, who was also a great Shogun that stabilized the Shogunate in the years to come, ushering in a period of peace that lasted more than 250 years.
    His Shrine was also very beautiful with a gate that had the four Yaksha as Guardians (Guardians of the East, West, North and South) I bought a golden hamaya arrow and a Yaksha talisman (these temples and Shrines make me a poor man, but I can always earn more money back home, yet I doubt the opportunies to buy these priceless souvenirs will come again)

    Google Translate:
    Nachdem ich Tokugawa Ieyasu meinen Respekt erwiesen hatte, besuchte ich auch das Grab seines Enkels Iemitsu, der ebenfalls ein großer Shogun war, der das Shogunat in den kommenden Jahren stabilisierte und eine Zeit des Friedens einleitete, die mehr als 250 Jahre dauerte.
    Sein Schrein war auch sehr schön mit einem Tor, das die vier Yaksha als Wächter hatte (Wächter des Ostens, Westens, Nordens und Südens). Ich kaufte einen goldenen Hamaya-Pfeil und einen Yaksha-Talisman (diese Tempel und Schreine machen mich zu einem armen Mann, ich kann zu Hause immer neues Geld verdienen, aber ich bezweifle, dass sich die Gelegenheiten, diese unbezahlbaren Souvenirs zu kaufen, jemals wieder ergeben werden.)
    Read more